The happiness that comes with the harvest.

Produce     Thanks to my friend Ann* and my husband’s panhandle relatives our kitchen is overflowing with produce.  Broccoli, tomatoes, turnips, sweet potatoes, squash (both winter and summer), cucumbers, new potatoes, dill, mint and bell peppers… it’s an embarrassment of riches!  So far I’ve used a little bit of the mint in my iced tea and I’ve got plans to make a loaf of Cheddar Dill Beer Bread but that hardly puts a dent in our crisper drawer. 

     Luckily for me, Kim Martin and Laurie Bostic at Barking Cat Farm have some great produce recipes on their website.  Turnips, butter, black pepper and honey?  Yes please!

     Now I just need a great recipe for some yellow squash because, truth be told, I don’t really like yellow squash.  Any ideas?

 

*(Although she is perfectly capable of growing fabulous vegetables, Ann didn’t actually grow any of the veggies in this picture, instead she introduced me to Jazbac Farm and their fledgling CSA.  Thanks Ann!)

1 Comment

Filed under friends, gardening, Kirkwood Gardens, Kirkwood Kitchens, recipes

One response to “The happiness that comes with the harvest.

  1. Slice the yellow squash thin and layer it in a lasagna. The taste will be disguised by the other ingredients that you do really like. 🙂

Leave a comment